For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Fifty years ago, in 1969, the first Nobel Prize in Economics was awarded to Jan Tinbergen and the Norwegian Ragnar Frisch. Economics journal TPEdigitaal released a special issue to celebrate the spirit of Jan Tinbergen. The edition was edited by Sander Onderstal (professor Strategy and Markets) and Dr. David Hollanders (UvA Humanities).

Nobel Prize winners shape the economic landscape

The online special issue consists of articles about the modern economic landscape that was shaped by the Nobel Prize winners. Among the contributors are UvA professors Peter Boswijk (Financial Economics), Arthur Schram ( Experimental Economics) and Arnoud Boot (Corporate Finance and Financial Markets).​

You can read the special issue here (Dutch only)

Other Tinbergen Year activities

Various activities have been organised in the spirit of Tinbergen. Some examples are a CPB lecture on inequality, presentation of the Jan Tinbergen Award and the seminar ‘Tinbergen Today: Challenges for Macroeconomics’.


You can find the overview on the website of Tinbergen Today.